Auberge William Wakeham
 

history

The complete history of La Maison William Wakeham, from these few stones to the raising of this majestic residence is quite complex. Therefore, we’ll only mention the major events that have mark this one.

As early as 1852, some documents reveal the existence of a house of stone on this location. However, the oral tradition attributes the construction of the whole complex to Commander Wakeham, who bought the property in 1880. He modified the place, back then called the One Ash, to give to it the style that makes its specificity.

Then, Wakeham who was also doctor, built his consulting room to the north of the main house, a huge glass-front greenhouse to the east and to the west, a polygon shaped high ceiling room that would become the music room.

Finally, Wakeham who liked to play billiards and to collect hunting trophies built to the east of the greenhouse a special room entirely dedicated to his interest which he called the sports room.

So, this is it for the construction of La Maison William Wakeham, which, from these few stones to this residence of the Commander Wakeham, distinguishes itself from the architectural tradition in Gaspésie, by its size and style.

But, it will only become a lodging place with its next owner, John Baker. So it’s around 1920 that the One Ash will become the One Ash Inn, third hotel of the Baker Empire.

The One Ash Inn literally go into history when, for example, we set up a little post office under its roof during the Second World War, and when we arranged the music room for the supposed coming of Elisabeth of England, room that we will called from now on the Queen’s room.

For all these reasons, the government of Quebec will officially recognize, in 1987, a historical value to the Ash Inn, which will therefore become a protected establishment, known under the name of La Maison William Wakeham.

News

follow us !

Auberge William Wakeham - Bed and breakfast
Auberge William Wakeham

auberge maison wakeham - tous droits réservés © 2017

Auberge William Wakeham
 

historique

L’histoire complète de la Maison William Wakeham, depuis ces quelques pierres jusqu’à l’érection de cette majestueuse demeure est assez complexe. Par conséquent, nous ferons part ici que des événements majeurs ayant marqué celle-ci.

Dès 1852, des documents révèlent l’existence sur cet emplacement d’une maison de pierres. Cependant, la tradition orale attribue la construction du complexe au commandant Wakeham, qui fit l’acquisition de la propriété en 1880. Il aurait donc modifié la maison pour lui donner le style mansarde qui fait la spécificité de l’endroit, alors appelé le One Ash (son nom provenant des frênes qui entourent la propriété).

Par la suite, Wakeham aménagera au nord de la maison principale, son cabinet de médecin, construira a` l’est une immense serre avec façade vitrée, et, a` l’ouest une chambre de forme polygonale et haute de plafond pour avantager la fonction acoustique de la pièce qui allait devenir la salle de musique. Enfin, Wakeham ayant pour intérêt le billard et les trophées de chasse, aménagera une pièce a` l’est de la serre entièrement dédié a` ses loisirs qu’il nommera la salle des sports.

Voilà donc pour la construction de la Maison William Wakeham, qui, depuis la maison de pierres jusqu’à cette demeure du commandant Wakeham, se distingue de la tradition architecturale de la Gaspésie tant par ses dimensions, ses matériaux que son style.

Elle trouvera cependant sa fonction d’auberge qu’avec son succèdent propriétaire, John Baker, déjà bien établi dans l’hôtellerie a` Gaspé. C’est donc vers 1920 que le One Ash deviendra le One Ash Inn, troisième établissement de l’empire Baker.

Le One Ash Inn entre littéralement dans l’histoire quand, par exemple, on y érige un petit bureau de poste durant la Seconde Guerre et qu’on aménage la salle de musique pour la venue supposée d’Élisabeth d’Angleterre, salle que l’on appellera désormais la Chambre de la Reine.

Pour toutes ces raisons, le gouvernement du Québec reconnaîtra officiellement en 1987 une valeur historique au Ash Inn qui deviendra donc un établissement protégé par le ministère des Affaires Culturelles sous le nom de Maison William Wakeham

Nouvelles

suivez- nous !

Auberge William Wakeham - Bed and breakfast
Auberge William Wakeham

auberge maison wakeham - tous droits réservés © 2017